January 16, 2023

The Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education held an organizational meeting on Monday, January 16, 2023 in the Newaygo High School Library. Mr. Jeff Wright, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Vince Grodus, Melissa Swinehart, Thomas Frisbie, Morgan

Heinzman, Jami Schultz and Reid Sherwood.

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sara Smith

Also Present:

Jeff Wright, Superintendent Kim Bidwell, Business Manger

Christina Wetherell, Administrative Assistant

Brad Reyburn, NHS Principal

Jim Grugett, Middle School Principal Kyle McAlister, NMS Asst. Principal

Andy Cox, NES Principal

Visitors: 17

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Mr. Frisbie, seconded by Mr. Heinzman, to approve the suggested agenda for the organizational meeting of January 16, 2023.

VOTE Ayes: 6 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Public Comment

None

Election of Officers

Motion by Mr. Sherwood, seconded by Mr. Grodus, to keep all officers the same for the 2023 calendar year as follows:

Board President: Vince Grodus

Board Vice President: Morgan Heinzman

Board Treasurer: Tom Frisbie

Board Secretary: Melissa Swinehart

VOTE

Ayes: 6 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Mr. Vince Grodus was declared President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2023 calendar year.

Mr. Morgan Heinzman was declared Vice-President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2023 calendar year.

Mr. Tom Frisbie was declared Treasurer of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2023 calendar year.

Ms. Melissa Swinehart was declared Secretary of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2023 calendar year.

Superintendent Wright turned the gavel over to Mr. Grodus.

Other Board of Education Matters/Concerns/Comments

None

Public Comments

None

Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Heinzman, seconded by Ms. Swinehart, to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE
Ayes: 6
Nays: 0

Motion: Carried Time: 6:02 p.m.

Melissa Swinehart, Board Secretary