January 15, 2024

The Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education held an organizational meeting on Monday, January 15, 2024 in the Newaygo High School Library. Mr. Ben Gilpin, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

MEMBERS PRESENT: Vince Grodus, Sara Smith, Bruce Gracik, Morgan Heinzman, Jami Schultz

MEMBERS ABSENT: Reid Sherwood and Tom Frisbie

Also Present: Ben Gilpin, Superintendent

Kim Bidwell, Business Manger

Christina Wetherell, Administrative Assistant

Gena Dietz, NHS Principal John Bull, NHS Asst. Principal Jim Smith, Middle School Principal Kyle McAlister, NMS Asst. Principal Brandon Smith, NES Asst. Principal

Visitors: 6

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Mr. Heinzman, seconded by Mr. Grodus, to approve the suggested agenda for the organizational meeting of January 15, 2024.

VOTE Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Public Comment

None.

Election of Officers

Motion by Mr. Gracik, seconded by Mr. Grodus, to keep all officers the same for the 2024 calendar year as follows:

Board President: Vince Grodus

Board Vice President: Morgan Heinzman

Board Treasurer: Tom Frisbie Board Secretary: Jami Schultz

VOTE Ayes: 5 Nays: 0

Motion: Carried

Mr. Vince Grodus declared President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2024 calendar year. Mr. Morgan Heinzman declared Vice-President of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2024 calendar year.

Mr. Tom Frisbie declared Treasurer of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2024 calendar year. Ms. Jami Schultz declared Secretary of the Newaygo Public Schools Board of Education for the 2024 calendar year.

Superintendent Gilpin turned the gavel over to Mr. Grodus.

Other Board of Education Matters/Concerns/Comments

None

Public Comments

None

Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Heinzman, seconded by Ms. Smith, to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE

Ayes: 5
Nays: 0
Motion: Carried Time: 6:03 p.m.

Jami Schultz, Board Secretary